“Uncharted”

It only makes sense that I would start this section of the blog off with the song that inspired the title of it: “Uncharted” by Sara Bareilles.
The idea of life and things being “Uncharted” has been a reoccurring theme in my life as of late and it provides the reassurance that it is okay to not know where you are headed or where you will end up. These past few weeks this song has been finding its way into my head and speakers whenever I start to doubt that what I am doing and what I hope to accomplish is in fact, what I should be doing. The truth is, I don’t know what I’m doing and there are times where it feels like I am at a standstill in reaching my dreams. Especially at this point in my life; I am fixing to be 26 years old and I don’t have a place to call my own, my friends are all married and have families of their own, not to mention most have steady careers. Me? I’ve been bartending since 21, waiting tables since 18 all just to scrape by and make enough to pursue my songwriting. No one ever said being a musician was easy, let alone cheap. But you know what that is perfectly fucking fine.
It’s a day after day process getting where you are going. A lot of repetition of putting one foot in front of the other and though it may seem stagnate at times it’s all worth it to reach whatever it is you are destined to be. Even when you are unsure how to get there. Enjoy the journey.
“I’m already out of foolproof ideas. So don’t ask me how to get started, it’s all uncharted.”

This line definitely rings true to my “Kaleidoscope heart.” I suggest if you’re feeling lost and uncertain, go give this song a listen it may help ease the load you are carrying on your shoulders. While you are at, check out the rest of her repertoire.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

