May 22, 2014- Bday and randomness.

I know I haven’t posted anything in a few days, but in my defense I have been REALLY busy.

I turned 26 over the weekend. Such a strange sensation that brings about. I am now officially closer to 30 than 20. I got to take in some great live music with some of the most wonderful people. If you get a chance to check out The Giving Tree Band I suggest you do. One word: Phenomenal. I got to see my friend Dylan Stewart play acoustic at a little bar in Norman, OK. So that made my birthday great. I even got to chat with his incredibly talented girlfriend , who happens to be one of my dear friends. Then on Tuesday, I bought myself a birthday present. Want to guess what it is? I’ll save you the trouble. I bought a Ukulele. If anyone knows me this is one of the most random things, apart from an accordion, I could have bought. I’m really excited about learning it. Luckily the guy at the store showed be a couple chords so I am well on my way =)

20140522-084620-31580936.jpg

I need suggestions for a name

What else has been going on? Hmmm…. I started writing a song the other day. Well sort of. I started writing the music for another song would be more appropriate to say. Thanks to drinking more Starbucks than I should have (which I really don’t need any being that I am hyper enough), I had a badass beat in my head all afternoon at work. So I went to a friends studio when I got off and we laid it down. It has since had an eerie organ put behind it and I’ve got another friend working on additional instrumentation for it. This is completely uncharted territory for me. I think total out of all the songs I’ve wrote over the years; I’ve maybe wrote 4 songs total where I had the music before the lyrics. What makes this different is I’ve never started with a base beat before and worked up to adding guitars let alone an organ before. I must admit, I really am enjoying working this way. But I won’t make a habit of it. I’m going to enjoy this little break from my normal writing process.

20140522-084841-31721930.jpg

The beat. Written the only way I knew how to get it scribed so I wouldn’t forget it.

Speaking of recording, I went back and re-recorded a couple of the songs that will be on the EP this fall. Instead of using my acoustic, we busted out my electric. I feel like I have deprived myself of some creativity the past 3 years. My electric was tucked away in its case in the corner of my room, while I played my acoustics daily. I’m not sure what made me pick it up and plug it in but I’m glad I did. The new stuff I have been writing is more me than anything I’ve wrote/play on my acoustic. Don’t worry though I’m not ditching my acoustic for good.

I’ll post the “song of the week” in the next day or two. Although, I’m thinking of changing it to maybe a “playlist of the week” instead. There is so much great music out share and it would take forever if I just did one song a week.

I think I’ve rambled enough now.

Adios, Muchachos!

Leave a Reply

