Playlist of the week

I know I said I was going to do a “Song of the week” each week, but there is an abundance of incredible songs and artist out there in the world. I feel that one a week would be a waste. So I decided to do a playlist instead. 10-15 songs that I have been listening to recently. Some may be old school while some may be new. I did say I have an eclectic music library didn’t I?

Enough chit chat. Down to “bidness”. (Yes, I am aware that is not how you spell business. That’s the way I said it in my head so I felt like I needed to say it by typing also.”

Here we go:
1) “One Headlight” The Wallflowers
What is not to love about this song? It has a catchy beat and the guitar in it is simply killer. I love anything from The Wallflowers and this is one if their most recognized songs. I have had this set as my main ringtone on my phone for the past year. So if you call me, I’m sorry I dint answer I’m busy jamming.

2) “Down By the Water” The Decemberist
I have to admit. I’m late to the party when it comes to The Decemberist. If you had ask me two years ago who they were, I wouldn’t be able to tell you. I stumbled across this song on YouTube late one night and immediately I was hooked. Also check out “Billy Liar”. It’s a fun little song.

3) “Bloom” The Paper Kites
This is a sweet song by an amazing band out of Australia. I have no idea how I came across their music but I am so very thankful I did. I like to drive down the road with my window down and arm in the breeze when I listen to “Bloom”. It has a summer love quality about it. At least in my world it does.

4) “How could I want more” Jamie Lynn Spears
I know what you are thinking “Really, a JLS song?” But hold the judgment and go listen to this song. It’s totally relatable. Being in a perfectly good and acceptable relationship but wanting more? We all have been there before or will be at one point in our life.

5) “Home” Marc Broussard
If this song doesn’t get you moving and feeling good then…. Well I don’t know. Maybe go clean your ears out. The bridge is so damn good! I love Marc Broussard and this song gets played on the jukebox at the bar I work at often.

6) “Clementine” Lincoln Durham
Speaking of the bar I work at: I feel extremely lucky to get to see Lincoln play this live one night. If you have never heard of him I HIGHLY recommend going and checking out his music. He is a one man band. Literally. Get on YouTube and be ready to have your mind blown. This is one of those songs that when it comes on my shuffle, I HAVE to listen to it.

7) “Learn To Fly” Foo Fighters
I think it would be illegal for me to make a list of songs and notinclude Foo Fighters. They are one of my favorite bands. If I were to ever write a screen play (which I have thought about several times) I would try my hardest to get this song (which is my favorite of theirs) to be the theme song. I absolutely love it.

8) “Talking in your sleep” The Civil Wars
Going to the other end of the music spectrum. I know this is technically a song by The Romantics but Joy and John Paul’s vocals and the emotion they pour into this song make it theirs. I wish they could work out whatever differences they have and get back to making music together.

9) “Songs about Trucks” Wade Bowen
Ah! I love me some Wade Bowen. I can’t tell you how many times I have gotten to experience him live. And he is such a great and personable guy. I grew up listening to country music and over the past few years a trend in the songs on the radio has developed. Trucks. I get it. Trucks are great. I drive a truck but sometimes you just want to feel the heartache and loneliness from a country song that the genre is so well known for providing. Thank you Wade for saying what many of us are thinking.

10) “That’s All” Genesis
This song is a guilty pleasure. If you’re with me when this song comes on be prepared to listen to it 2-3 times in a row. I can’t get enough of it. My mom made me listen to Phil Collins when I was growing up and I’m glad she did because he is wonderful.

I hope this list wasn’t too random for you, or maybe I do. I am sneaky that way. 😉 I will try my best to post one of these every week but it may not work out that way. For now go and endulge yourself with good tunes! And please. If you have music you would like to share. Feel free to post in a comment. I love listening to what artist/songs other people enjoy.

Later gators,
Jess

Leave a Reply

