June 4,2014- Ukuleles, cheese, and soundcloud

Geez Louise…. It’s already freaking June. I can’t believe how fast this year has been flying bye. I guess that’s what happens when you’re constantly busy. Not to brag or anything but I have two jobs, take online classes, and write songs. I’m kinda a busy bee. Ok so the only thing really worth bragging about out of all that is the songwriting part, which I am fixing to do. Nice Segue there huh? Yeah, I thought so too. Any who, so in a previous post I mentioned I nixed the mandolin buying idea and bought a ukulele. Yesterday, I actually had time(I am EXTREMELY busy you know 😉) to sit down and attempt to learn a couple chords. By a couple I mean I now know a slew of them. It was like my hand and brain had been playing for years. I was picking up chords and strumming patterns at a lightning speed. I’ve been playing guitar for 6?….7?…..mayyyybbbbe 8 years (I’m 26 and started when I was 19) and I am still learning and maybe when I’m 80 I can play a little lead. On Uke (I feel like I’m okay enough to call it this. Almost like I’ve been playing it for years and it’s NBD) I picked up a sweet little lead-esque thing. And next thing I knew I was singing lyrics off the top of my head and low and behold. I wrote my first. Freaking. Song. On ukulele.

20140604-224000-81600793.jpg

I’m not gonna lie. I’m kinda in love with it. I’m still getting use to the strumming on the nylon strings though. But I’ve only been playing for like two F’n days. Cut me some slack. Speaking of cutting. I went to a cheese store today and bought what I refer to as “fancy” cheese. I made homemade Mac n’cheese with it. Wow. That was random!!!! Back to what I was saying about the Uke song. (I guess that is what it will be referred to now even though it has an actual title but whatevs). . I recorded it on soundcloud so here you go. Sharing is caring after all. Side note: I always associate that with care bears but I’m almost certain it’s from Barney. Can someone please find out and get back to me on that?

Here is the link to the Uke song aka “whatever it takes” please feel free to share it with your friends. If anything it will be a bonding experience laughing at a girl who just thinks she has the uke and singing thing figured out.

http://soundcloud.com/jessicaleighmusic/whatever-it-takes-original/s-3Rxxm

2 thoughts on “June 4,2014- Ukuleles, cheese, and soundcloud

Leave a Reply

