June 16- Playlist of the Week

It’s taken me a lot longer to get this list put together than I would have liked. I had the list made last week but just haven’t had a lot of time to sit down and type it all up. So I finally made time this morning.

“Sweet Talking Liar”- Jay Nash
Without listing too closely or reading the lyrics; this song sounds like it could be another sweet song about heartache. But once you listen to the lyrics it becomes so much more. The opening of the song is great! “You won’t be the next Bob Dylan, might not die at 27…” that line combined with Jays smoky smooth voice is what got me hooked. Be sure to check out the rest of his songs as they are equally enticing.

“Beautiful Disaster”- Jon McLaughlin
The majority of this song sums up who I am at this point in my life. I will be the first to admit I’ve had a rough couple of years, but the things that have transposed and the opportunities that are presenting themselves are worth every ounce of the struggle. Life really is just a beautiful disaster.

“See right through”- The Black Lillies
The first time I heart this song was on TV sometime after 2 in the morning. I had just got off work and was trying to wind down when the video came on some random music channel. I have since become a fan of The Black Lillies. All of their songs are exceptionally well written and performed. This is a band I think will become so much more popular over the next couple years.

“Easy from now on”- Emmylou Harris
It is really hard for me to pick just one Emmylou Harris song. She is one of my absolute favorites. “Easy From Now On” definitely ranks up there at the top of the list. Emmylou expresses a range of emotions as she sings. I love the imagery that the line “a quarter moon in a ten cent town” conjures up. It’s no secret I’m a huge fan of hers. I have almost all of her albums on vinyl (and cds of course) but the one that this song is on is actually framed up above my record player. Hopefully someday I will be able to see her live.

“Me and the Whiskey”- The Damn Quails
If you have listened to Texas/Oklahoma music, chances are you probably have heard of The Damn Quails. They seem to be gaining popularity and momentum each day. I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know these guys over the past year (they are fellow okies) and am proud to say that I can call them friends. When asked what song of theirs I enjoy the most, I would have to say this one hands down. I highly recommend checking out their live show as well, you will not be disappointed and you never know who will show up and join in with them on stage.
“Tower”- Skylar Grey
I got this song from iTunes when they had it as their “single of the week.” I am glad I did or I probably would not have a clue who Skylar is, which would be a travesty because she’s incredible. “Tower” to me, is about knowing someone who is off achieving their dreams while you are still trying to figure out what you want out of life. They promise to try and make it work, whether it’s a friendship or relationship but you know the possibility that it may not make it.

“Wing”- Haerts
“Learning love means not to know…” this lyric is so simply and beautifully written. The whole song has that fun 80’s pop ballad feel to it. The beat makes you want to dance but when you listen to the lyrics its’ really about letting go and learning to move on, eventually.

“Come On Eileen”- Dexy’s Midnight Runners
This is my go-to song whenever I need a pick me up. It is so infectious and makes you want to move around and dance all silly like. If you can listen to this song and not feel happy or crack a smile, then there is no hope. There has been many dance parties to this song in my truck.

“Another Long Night”- The Bastard Sons
I was introduced to this band by a friend of mine one night when we were closing down the bar we both work at. It’s like Dropkick Murphies with a 50’s-before-their-time rock and roll sound. Whatever you want to call their style, I love it. Those UK artist are uber talented, must be something in the water.

Leave a Reply

