“Give it all up”

“Give it all up” was the product of a very unhealthy period in my life. I was hanging out with some less than stellar influences. When I wasn’t working at either of my two jobs, I would be hanging out and drinking. Basically, the rebellion phase most people go through when they are teenagers I went through at 22. I was struggling with finding my voice and confidence in who I am. I hadn’t wrote a decent (for me at the time) song in months.

To say I was facing a major writers block would be a enormous understatement. This song was my way of begging to the universe to let me find inspiration again. “I’d give it all up” (referring to previous stated bad habits) just to be able to write something… Anything again.

I’m not sure why but when I tell people this it makes them laugh a little. I guess because I put off this big “I’m Miss Responsible have my shit sort of together” vibe. They tell me that when they listen to it, the assumption is that it’s about a relationship and willing to do what ever it takes to make it work even if it’s giving up a part of who you are. I guess that could be the case too.

It is nice knowing that a song can mean one thing to me and something completely different to someone else. Which I think as a songwriter, is part of the point. To create this song and have it take on a life of its own in the eyes(ears) of whomever is listening.

Here is a recording of it. Go ahead and take a gander and let me know what you think.

http://soundcloud.com/jessicaleighmusic/give-it-all-up-original

Leave a Reply

