I have been writing songs for most of my life. But I’ve only been sharing them with others for the past 6.5 years or so. In that time I started I get feedback from friends and family, and a common comment made was “your songs are really good. But they are so sad and depressing. Do you have any “happy” songs?”

I’m a happy person naturally. I guess all the non-happy things that I feel just come out in songs. I’ve tried to force myself to write more upbeat songs but they always come out…. I don’t know the word I’m looking for exactly, but they aren’t good.

“Together” is the first lovey-dovey, mushy type song I’ve ever wrote. I had this beautiful guitar part I was playing over and over and contemplating what it would be like once I finally meet my “soulmate.” (as most single girls my age often contemplate.) The idea of something so simple as sitting on the couch watching TV (even a show you do not particularly like but they do) with the one you love is comforting. I’d like to be in Love, I’m not now but someday, so it’s a sort of beckoning to the universe. šŸ™‚

Until then, I hope this song resonates with at least a few people. I’m ridiculously proud of this one.

https://soundcloud.com/jessicaleighmusic/sounds-from-tuesday-morning

Leave a Reply

