2017!? Already!?

It’s 2017!? Already?  It feels like 2016 just started a few months ago.  

What a year it has been.  I did something new last year, I started playing open mics around Oklahoma City for the first time.  I decided that it was time for me to support myself as much as I do all my songwriter friends out there.  I’ll still be the first person to cheer them on and wish them congratulations on everything they are accomplishing, but I’m almost *gulp* 30. (Technically I’m almost 29, but that’s the same as being almost 30.) 

Its been really nice and refreshing to hear such positive feedback on my songs,and my voice.  Seriously, those are two of my biggest insecurities thanks to a lovely little stint in my previous musical adventures.  My one biggest regret over the past couple years is that I let those insecurities and doubts rule my life and caused me to be completely frozen with fear when it came to playing my music for people.  My songwriting has definitely suffered because of it.  

This year I vow to continue playing more open mics, maybe even a few full acoustic shows here and there, and to not take the nay-saying to heart.  I’ll be the first to admit that I have let myself be controlled by fear and negative self image,  but no more! 

Look out 2017! I’m coming at you full force.

Jess

Leave a Reply

